Latest News

Brief History& Development of University


         University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences (UAHS), was carved out of University of Agricultural Sciences (UAS), Bengaluru and University of Horticultural Sciences (UHS), Bagalkote. From UAS, Bengaluru (CoA, Shivamogga and CoF, Ponnampet (educated institutions)., all the research stations and KVKs of seven districtsviz. Davanagere, Chitradurga, Shivamogga, Chickmagaluru, Kodagu, Dakshina Kannada and Udupi and from UHS, Bagalakote, CoH, Hiriyur and Mudigere (educated institutions) were separated and brought under the Management of University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences (UAHS), Shivamogga.
          UAHS started its operation  from 21-09-2012 through a special Ordinance passed by Govt. of Karnataka (Special Gazette Notification of Karnataka Act No. 38 of 2012, Part IV-J (No. 656).UAHS started functioning independently from 1st April, 2013  
       During 26-07-2021, the name of the UAHS was changed to Keladi Shivappa Nayaka University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences (KSNUAHS), through another Ordinance passed by Govt. of Karnataka, considering the substantial reforms in the field of Agriculture, by Shistina Shivappa Nayaka; a prominent ruler in the Keladi Dynasty. The new name was given by Govt. of Karnataka.
       KSNUAHS is the first integrated University in the State of Karnataka, which has Agriculture, Horticulture and Forestry Sciences under its purview. It has an operational jurisdiction in seven districts viz., Shivamogga, Chikkamagaluru, Udupi, Dakshina Kannada, Kodagu, Davanagere and Chitradurga.
      The University has a vision to transform itself into the “Light house of Knowledge”. The head quarter of the KSNUAHS is located at Iruvakki, a green campus located in the midst of United Nation’s -World Heritage Centre, truly a hot spot of Bio-diversity at Sagara Taluk of Shivamogga District. The new head quarter, of KSNUAHS, was shifted to Iruvakki campus in the SagarTaluk of Shivamogga District (located about 50 KM away from the Navile Campus on the Highway between Bengaluru – Honnavara – NH 13).  The New campus is on the road between Shivamogga – Baindur National Highway (NH206) hence well connected to Bengaluru through NH 13 and NH 206.  It is also well connected by Train (nearest Railway Station is Anandapura) and nearest Airports  are at Shivamogga (60) Mangaluru (225 KM), Hubli ( 265 ) and Bengaluru (315 KM)
Educational Centers:
      The University has four educational institutions viz., College of Agriculture, Shivamogga, College of Horticulture, Mudigere, College of Forestry, Ponnampet, College of Horticulture, Hiriyur and two Diploma College of Agriculture at Kathalagere and Brahmavara
Research Centers:
      One Main Agricultural and Horticultural Research Station at Iruvakki. Four Zonal Agricultural and Horticultural Research Station (ZAHRS) at Shivamogga, Hiriyur, Mudigere, Brahmavara, nine Agricultural and Horticultural Research Station at Kathalagere, Ullala, Thirthahalli, Ponnampet,  Sringeri, Bavikere, Honnavile, Madikeri and Kademadkal.
Extension Centers:
        University has four ICAR KVKs at Shivamogga, Chitradurga, Chikkamagaluru and Udupi. Two Extension Education Units at Kathalagere and Ponnampet, two Extension Units at Thirthahalli and Sringeri


Scroll to Top